eFA4 - root pwd changed or?

Questions and answers about how to do stuff
Post Reply
clishmaclaver
Posts: 4
Joined: 22 Jan 2020 17:02

eFA4 - root pwd changed or?

Post by clishmaclaver » 22 Jan 2020 17:39

Following the instructions on https://efa-project.org/download/, I installed eFA4 on the centos 7 machine.
Everything seems OK till the pre-installation and setup, however once rebooted the machine, I can no longer access the console as root, the root pwd created during the centos installation/intial setup is not accepted and I tried to use the classical password EfaPr0j3ct if somehow the setup overwritten the root pwd. But Nothing.
Any idea what triggers this problem? Or which is the def password used by eFA4?
Note: I am connecting directly to the VM console - it's not SSH/SELinux issue.
Thanks!

User avatar
shawniverson
Posts: 3144
Joined: 13 Jan 2014 23:30
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana USA
Contact:

Re: eFA4 - root pwd changed or?

Post by shawniverson » 23 Jan 2020 10:54

Are you using the iso?
Version eFa 4.0.2 now available!

clishmaclaver
Posts: 4
Joined: 22 Jan 2020 17:02

Re: eFA4 - root pwd changed or?

Post by clishmaclaver » 23 Jan 2020 11:35

actually no, installed from this link wget -O build.bash https://install.efa-project.org
btw, I have tried also to install from iso file, but installation fails and get aborted

henk
Posts: 465
Joined: 14 Dec 2015 22:16
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: eFA4 - root pwd changed or?

Post by henk » 23 Jan 2020 17:07

Did you try? : eFaPr0j3ct

clishmaclaver
Posts: 4
Joined: 22 Jan 2020 17:02

Re: eFA4 - root pwd changed or?

Post by clishmaclaver » 24 Jan 2020 09:34

yes, it doesn't work either.
I thought about reinstalling again by capturing the installation process, however I couldn't because the domain appears to be inactive - see attachment.
Attachments
couldntresolve.png
couldntresolve.png (27.32 KiB) Viewed 1400 times

User avatar
shawniverson
Posts: 3144
Joined: 13 Jan 2014 23:30
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana USA
Contact:

Re: eFA4 - root pwd changed or?

Post by shawniverson » 24 Jan 2020 11:13

You are spelling the domain wrong, which makes me wonder how you are spelling the password...
Version eFa 4.0.2 now available!

clishmaclaver
Posts: 4
Joined: 22 Jan 2020 17:02

Re: eFA4 - root pwd changed or?

Post by clishmaclaver » 24 Jan 2020 12:07

was simply a typo, I screwed up the wrong screenshot, the problem was on my router and I assure you it's not spelling issue.

Attached it caught my attention during installation... idea?
Attachments
LockDownRoot.png
LockDownRoot.png (127.19 KiB) Viewed 1390 times

User avatar
shawniverson
Posts: 3144
Joined: 13 Jan 2014 23:30
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana USA
Contact:

Re: eFA4 - root pwd changed or?

Post by shawniverson » 24 Jan 2020 22:50

That is supposed to happen. Use your new cli user and use sudo.
Version eFa 4.0.2 now available!

elfranko
Posts: 16
Joined: 03 Sep 2018 08:03

Re: eFA4 - root pwd changed or?

Post by elfranko » 29 Mar 2020 11:03

I wanted to upload some files to the box, and admin user was denied access to the /etc/postfix/ssl folder Using WinSCP
My work around was to go into users in webmin and remove the tick from "Login temporarily disabled" from the root user.
This allowed me to do what I needed to do.

Hope this helps

Frank

henk
Posts: 465
Joined: 14 Dec 2015 22:16
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: eFA4 - root pwd changed or?

Post by henk » 30 Mar 2020 19:47

To allow root to login is what you call a really bad idea. idea :naughty: . You need to use your cli user and use sudo as Shwan mentioned.

The rule is simple, never allow root access. :!:

Use ssh or a tool great free tool like https://mobaxterm.mobatek.net/download.html to drop and drag files
and install mc ( yum install mc) if you want a gui to manage files like you used to do on Windoows.

Post Reply