EFA - Hyper-V

General eFa discussion
Post Reply
Mach3
Posts: 10
Joined: 16 Oct 2012 07:58

EFA - Hyper-V

Post by Mach3 » 20 Oct 2012 13:26

Hello Darky83

Congratulations on the first EFA release. Let hope it the first of many.

Is there any chance of a .vhd (Hyper-V) release?

Regards
And

User avatar
darky83
Site Admin
Posts: 537
Joined: 30 Sep 2012 11:03
Location: eFa
Contact:

Re: EFA - Hyper-V

Post by darky83 » 20 Oct 2012 18:36

That could be possible,

I am currently documenting the build script, with the build script it is possible to build EFA on any machine you want from scratch (linux knowledge is required however because a basic installed debian system is needed)

I currently don't have a Hyper-V host available but I can set one up next week to create a vhd also.
Version eFa 4.x now available!

Mach3
Posts: 10
Joined: 16 Oct 2012 07:58

Re: EFA - Hyper-V

Post by Mach3 » 20 Oct 2012 21:57

No worries... I've used linux for many years & many different distro's

I have access to Hyper-V, VMware ESXi and at a push... A Citrix Xen hosts.

Can knock you up an image(s) if you want?

Regards
And

User avatar
darky83
Site Admin
Posts: 537
Joined: 30 Sep 2012 11:03
Location: eFa
Contact:

Re: EFA - Hyper-V

Post by darky83 » 21 Oct 2012 14:12

I already created a Hyper-V image for you :)

see: http://www.efa-project.org/download/
It is compressed using 7zip so you will need 7zip to decompress the .7z file.

d.
Version eFa 4.x now available!

Mach3
Posts: 10
Joined: 16 Oct 2012 07:58

Re: EFA - Hyper-V

Post by Mach3 » 01 Nov 2012 20:25

Howdy Darky83

I've downloaded the Hyper-V image. Not having much luck importing it though. Replicated the install/export path etc. What version of Hyper-V did you use?

I'm using Windows 2008 Stnd

Many thanks for the time and effort

Kind regards
And

User avatar
darky83
Site Admin
Posts: 537
Joined: 30 Sep 2012 11:03
Location: eFa
Contact:

Re: EFA - Hyper-V

Post by darky83 » 01 Nov 2012 21:13

2008 std R2

I don't know if there is a difference in R2 maybe.

I will try it out tomorrow, I sucessfully installed it on a few 2008 R2 hyper-v servers but never tried a non R2 machine.
Version eFa 4.x now available!

Mach3
Posts: 10
Joined: 16 Oct 2012 07:58

Re: EFA - Hyper-V

Post by Mach3 » 05 Nov 2012 19:33

Hi Dark

Just wondering you had a .vhd file that could be added to a Hyper-V instance?

User avatar
darky83
Site Admin
Posts: 537
Joined: 30 Sep 2012 11:03
Location: eFa
Contact:

Re: EFA - Hyper-V

Post by darky83 » 06 Nov 2012 15:44

I tested on a non R2 server and all seems to be working fine.

Are you using the import option in Hyper-V Manager or just selecting the disks it self?

See for example: http://www.howtogeek.com/104148/beginne ... n-hyper-v/ and scroll down to Importing a Virtual Machine and select 'Copy the Virtual Machine'

d.
Version eFa 4.x now available!

Mach3
Posts: 10
Joined: 16 Oct 2012 07:58

Re: EFA - Hyper-V

Post by Mach3 » 06 Nov 2012 17:43

Howdy

Tried both methods. Gunna try another import

Mach3
Posts: 10
Joined: 16 Oct 2012 07:58

Re: EFA - Hyper-V

Post by Mach3 » 06 Nov 2012 23:37

Hi Dark

Still no joy.

I've replicated the export path. Even tried removing the UUID from the .exp file

Just a quick question... I know this sounds insulting.. But you're not renaming folders once the vm has exported & all exported (even empty ones) folders are being included in the 7zip?

Cheers
Ans

Mach3
Posts: 10
Joined: 16 Oct 2012 07:58

Re: EFA - Hyper-V

Post by Mach3 » 07 Nov 2012 11:04

Howdy Darky83

Please disregard last post.

I've imported the image on Hyper-V R2 host. Image boots up, I can run through the config options.

There's no networking though.

As for my 2008 Std Hyper-V @ Home... time to blow it away and upgrade.

Regards
And

User avatar
darky83
Site Admin
Posts: 537
Joined: 30 Sep 2012 11:03
Location: eFa
Contact:

Re: EFA - Hyper-V

Post by darky83 » 07 Nov 2012 14:04

For networking make sure the 'legacy' networking adapter is connected to a virtual switch.

Weird that it didn't work on your non R2 2008 server, I specialy installed one to test but it worked there :S
Version eFa 4.x now available!

Mach3
Posts: 10
Joined: 16 Oct 2012 07:58

Re: EFA - Hyper-V

Post by Mach3 » 07 Nov 2012 16:23

Hello, Yes... tried the legacy card... still no luck :-(

tried bringing the card 'manually' with ifup etc. Tried creating a new vm adding the legacy card, then adding the two vhd files. It boots up but still doesn't pick up the network interface.

This happens on both Hyper-v's

Gunna try a vanilla debian install with Legacy card enabled... just to rule out anymore hv bugs

danceresort
Posts: 1
Joined: 14 Dec 2012 09:47

Re: EFA - Hyper-V

Post by danceresort » 14 Dec 2012 09:59

Hi,

I am also getting the same problem with lack of networking after the image goes thru the config.

2008 R2 Hyper V with switch and legacy network adapter.

Any ideas?

User avatar
darky83
Site Admin
Posts: 537
Joined: 30 Sep 2012 11:03
Location: eFa
Contact:

Re: EFA - Hyper-V

Post by darky83 » 20 Dec 2012 12:42

Been testing but somehow I can't reproduce,

Guess it has something todo with the physical hardware differences.
My best guess is that in the ip configuration script I use I set eth0 as network interface.

It might be that in your case the system has a eth1 nic for example, if you do a clean boot and then login on the console and then:

Code: Select all

dmesg | grep -i eth 
what is the result there? does it show a eth0 or eth1 nic?

d.
Version eFa 4.x now available!

User avatar
DavidRa
Posts: 30
Joined: 24 Dec 2012 08:29
Location: Sydney, AU
Contact:

Re: EFA - Hyper-V

Post by DavidRa » 30 Dec 2012 12:21

It appears that if you use the pre-built image, but choose not to keep the same MAC address, Debian assigns a new interface name to the (sole) Ethernet adapter. I haven't tested replacing with the synthetic NIC and keeping the MAC - as it appears the kernel doesn't include the Hyper-V extensions and I'm not clued up enough to install them myself.

Post Reply