new version (4), some ideas

General eFa discussion
neodg

new version (4), some ideas

Post by neodg »

Hi!

I am an administrator for over 20 years now and for me are some points really important:
  • Service monitoring for all services and restart if fails (with mail to admin)
  • Show the system (service) status in the webinterface (all services for E.F.A!)
  • Redundancy (!!!), an fast way to setup a second E.F.A with the same config as the first one, but no dependency for the first one
  • The ability to block sender completely (yes i know, we should not do that)
About the operating system: i like debian, but the release cycle is much to short, and after an upgrade, half of the system wont work, so in my oppinion, centos is ok.

And again: thanks for all!
darky83
Site Admin

Re: new version (4), some ideas

Post by darky83 »

• Service monitoring is on the todo list
  • service status in webinterface not so much, as you might know we use mailwatch as primary interface, but we take a look at it, might be a way to incorporate it without breaking mailwatch.
  • replication is on the todo list (2nd server has the same config as the first one
  • The new version will be CentOS based, primarly for the long release cycle and the update methode (version 4 will require auto update)
When we check our update log files we see lots of version checking in that are old, so there are admins out there that install and never update the systems :naughty: .
Unpatched systems cause a security risk so from version 4 auto update is mandatory (ofcourse if you really don't want it you can disable it), and with CentOS this works great.

It will take a while to get v4 ready as a first beta, but we still aim for a release in 2017 :ugeek:
Version eFa 4.x now available!
henk

Post by henk »

Hi,
Another idea?

To monitor services the easy way, why not take a look at Xymon? Redhat and Debian are supported.http://xymon.sourceforge.net/