Why dovecot?

Bugs in eFa 4
Post Reply
echo
Posts: 4
Joined: 07 Jan 2020 11:31

Why dovecot?

Post by echo » 07 Jan 2020 11:45

Hello everyone,
I was just looking the new efa 4, did fresh install and I saw there is a dovecot on it, but I don't understand for what purpose.
Is it necessary for the normal operation of efa, or I can remove it/disable it?
Also one more question: I saw port 587 open, I suppose that is for submissions, but I wouldn't use it, can I disable it and how?
Thank you.

Heimir
Posts: 14
Joined: 25 Mar 2015 14:48

Re: Why dovecot?

Post by Heimir » 16 Jan 2020 20:45

We block everything in the firewall and only open the ports we need.

echo
Posts: 4
Joined: 07 Jan 2020 11:31

Re: Why dovecot?

Post by echo » 17 Jan 2020 05:44

Yes,
That is not bad approach also, everyone should configure they're firewall properly, but to answer my own question:
Dovecot is probably installed by dependency. We did not remove it, just disabled the service and everything is working properly.

Post Reply