[SOLVED] RAM

Bugs in eFa 4
Post Reply
gregecslo
Posts: 20
Joined: 09 Sep 2018 17:55

[SOLVED] RAM

Post by gregecslo » 22 Nov 2019 08:49

Hi all!

I have migrated from V3 to V4 yesterday.
Now I have a ram issue.
V3 had 3072MB of RAM and it worked great for 2 years.

V4 has also 3GB of RAM but I have serious problems with it.
I boot it up and it crashes and reboots in 90 seconds after startup. I figured it out that if I assign 5GB of RAM all is good.
Funny thing is, swap is not being used at all.
I have clam and sophos and that is it.

What can I do except of bumping up ram?

Thanks!
Last edited by gregecslo on 22 Nov 2019 14:42, edited 1 time in total.

gregecslo
Posts: 20
Joined: 09 Sep 2018 17:55

Re: RAM

Post by gregecslo » 22 Nov 2019 14:42

OK solved it.

It was Sophos on-access scanner.

Whoever install Sophos should disable on access scanner OR give machine sufficient RAM:

/opt/sophos-av/bin/savconfig set EnableOnStart false

If on access starts and there is not enough RAM it crashes kernel as it won`t use swap at all.

User avatar
shawniverson
Posts: 2897
Joined: 13 Jan 2014 23:30
Location: Rushville, Indiana, USA
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED] RAM

Post by shawniverson » 22 Nov 2019 22:02

:clap:
Version eFa 4.0.0 now available!

henk
Posts: 401
Joined: 14 Dec 2015 22:16
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED] RAM

Post by henk » 22 Nov 2019 22:23

Did you execute a Lint check in the GUI and checked the audit.log?

Code: Select all

grep 'avc:  denied' /var/log/audit/audit.log 
I used this unattended Sophos install script viewtopic.php?t=3394

gregecslo
Posts: 20
Joined: 09 Sep 2018 17:55

Re: [SOLVED] RAM

Post by gregecslo » 23 Nov 2019 08:38

I`ve disabled selinux first thing after I deployed efa v4 :)

henk
Posts: 401
Joined: 14 Dec 2015 22:16
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED] RAM

Post by henk » 23 Nov 2019 19:42

ahaa, disable selinux... That's what I used to do :lol:

With sellinux enabled, you just exec the script and Sophos will work like a charm.

I can confirm that Efa4 runs fine with selinux enabled (and a lot of other additional packages installed), thanks to Shawn.

User avatar
shawniverson
Posts: 2897
Joined: 13 Jan 2014 23:30
Location: Rushville, Indiana, USA
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED] RAM

Post by shawniverson » 24 Nov 2019 01:35

henk wrote:
23 Nov 2019 19:42
I can confirm that Efa4 runs fine with selinux enabled (and a lot of other additional packages installed), thanks to Shawn.
Fun fact: building an selinux ruleset for eFa took over a year :ugeek:
Version eFa 4.0.0 now available!

gregecslo
Posts: 20
Joined: 09 Sep 2018 17:55

Re: [SOLVED] RAM

Post by gregecslo » 25 Nov 2019 11:58

Just because of that I might enable it :)

Post Reply