Monitor Only

Questions and answers about how to do stuff
Bauer3139

Monitor Only

Post by Bauer3139 »

Is there a way to set EFA to essentially scan traffic only, but take no action on emails? This way emails are evaluated and logged but flow through without being stopped. I know I can whitelist, but this doesn't let me see how the system rates each email. This would be ideal to see it impacts on email, without interrupting allowing me to make any changes needed first.
Mail2GoCa

Re: Monitor Only

Post by Mail2GoCa »

Well you definitely don't want any Malware infected emails to get through, but perhaps you'd like SpamAssassin to rate the email and pass it on to the end recipient no matter the spam score. That should not be difficult to achieve.

I'm fairly new to EFA so I am not 100% certain that this solution will work because the setting change indicated below may end up being overwritten by MailScanner. However, it's worth a shot.

1. Launch Webmin (Typically https://yourEFAhostName:10000 ) and log in as root
2. In the left hand navigation pane, click on 'Servers'
3. Click on 'SpamAssassin Mail Filter'
4. In the 'SpamAssassin Mail Filter' main index page, click on 'Spam Classification'
5. In the 'Spam Classification' page, change the bullet beside 'Hits above which a message is considered spam' and enter a number high enough to let all minor spam through. Play with the numbers, but I would try 10 to start (default is 5) and see how that goes.

Please post back and let everyone know how that worked out for you.

Cheers
8-)
Mail2GoCa

Post by Mail2GoCa »

Hah. It seems my suspicions were corrrect.

The SpamAssassin score threshold is configured in /etc/MailScanner/MailScanner.conf

Look for these lines... somewhere around line 2240

# This replaces the SpamAssassin configuration value 'required_hits'.
# If a message achieves a SpamAssassin score higher than this value,
# it is spam. See also the High SpamAssassin Score configuration option.